Chestnut Park was proud to sponsor the Writers Trust Gala, held on Thursday, November 14th.



With a Canadian writer at each table, the Writers’ Trust Gala is unlike any other fundraiser. Past guest authors include literary luminaries Margaret Atwood, Adrienne Clarkson, Cherie Dimaline, Emma Donoghue, Lawrence Hill, Thomas King, Ann-Marie MacDonald, Anne Michaels, and Noah Richler.






The highlight of the evening is the presentation of the $50,000 Writers’ Trust Fellowship honouring one of the leading Canadian writers of our time. This years Writers Trust winner was Heather ONeill, who has been previously shortlisted for a Governor General’s Literary Award for fiction, the Orange Prize for Fiction, and the Scotiabank Giller Prize in two consecutive years, and has won CBC Canada Reads, the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction, and the Danuta Gleed Award.


You can learn more about the Writers’ Trust of Canada HERE


Older Blog Posts